RSS

Beware the Rise of the One-Eared Monster

08 Aug

A hideous new policy has unfortunately reared it’s ugly head and you should take this warning seriously.

First the background. I love art and am a member of a gallery. Part of my enjoyment involves listening to my ipod while viewing. I strive to compose the perfect soundtrack for each exhibit and to share them with fellow patrons.

Recently, to my shock, a security guard stopped me and asked if I could only use one ear for my listening pleasure? One ear? How disjointed is that? I was speechless.

His excuse was that in the event of an emergency I will then be able to hear the notifications! As if the sight of people on fire running out of the building will not be notice enough.

Laugh if you will but this is the CYA police at work. Somewhere someone tried to sue because they were wearing headphones and they were unable to hear some form of announcement. Now to cover your ass properly institutions are going to start to implement this policy. Beware.

Now, let me start working on that waiver!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 8 August 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
